Snapfish rots

By | July 13, 2006

To view someone else’s shared Snapfish album, you have to register as a snapfish user.

To register as a snapfish user, you have to give your name and email address and click the little box next to “I accept the Snapfish terms and conditions.”

Next to the box for your email address on the registration form is a hyperlink with the text “we never spam.”  If you click on that link, here is part of what you see:

Customer Communication: We use Customer Information to communicate with you and we consider this communication to be an integral part of the Snapfish service. We use your email and mailing address to inform you of site improvements, feature announcements, newsletters, Snapfish promotional offers, and occasional third-party promotional offers that may be of interest to you. We use mobile phone numbers to share pictures to mobile phones or to enable access to customer accounts from mobile phones. Only Snapfish (or agents working on behalf of Snapfish under confidentiality agreements) will send you these mailings or use your mobile phone numbers for these purposes. This is a key component of “active participation” in the Service (see our Terms and Conditions). If you do not wish to be an active participant, you may always cancel your Snapfish membership, by writing [email protected].

In short, you can’t view someone else’s shared album without consenting to accept email you don’t want from Snapfish.  That sure sounds like spam to me.

In the spirit of full disclosure, I should mention that late in 2002, I actually tried to use Snapfish to develop and get prints for a roll of film, and they screwed up the handling of that one order in so many different ways that I vowed never to do business with them again.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.